
Business License Renewal - If you have a Standard Business License 

*RENEWAL NOTICES ARE NOT SENT OUT. AS THE BUSINESS OWNER YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR 

RENEWING YOUR BUSINESS LICENSE EACH YEAR. 
 

All businesses that currently have a standard business license or businesses that have grossed 

more than $9,999.99 from the sales of goods and services are required by law to have Standard 

Business License. Those who have a Standard Business License will need to file a business tax 

return with the Tennessee Department of Revenue. Business tax returns are required to be  

filed and the payment remitted electronically through the Tennessee Department of Revenue to 

the Tennessee Taxpayer Access Point (TNTAP) system, unless a business has been granted an 

electronic filling waiver. Please contact the Tennessee Department of Revenue directly to see if 

you qualify for an electronic filing waiver at (615) 253-0600 Ext 4. Business tax returns are due 

four months and fifteen days after the end of your fiscal year end date. Business licenses expire 

five months and fifteen days after the end of your fiscal year end date. The minimum tax for 

taxpayers in Classifications 1 through 4 is $22 per Business License. A penalty is imposed for the 

late filing of a tax return and for late payment of taxes owed to the state. The penalty is 

computed at a rate of 5% per month, or any portion of a month, from the due date until the 

date the taxes are paid. The maximum penalty is 25% of the tax amount due; with a minimum 

penalty of $15. In addition, interest is imposed on any taxes not paid by the tax due date. The 

interest rate applicable to any delinquent tax payment is set on July 1st, each year. For general 

questions regarding business tax call (615) 253-0600 Ext. 4. For questions regarding the TNTAP 

system, call (615) 253-0600 Ext 1. 

TENNESSEE TAXPAYER ACCESS POINT (TNTAP) TNTAP HOW-TO-VIDEOS 
 

 

 

CALCULATING YOUR BUSINESS REVENUE FOR BUSINESS TAX PURPOSES 
 

If you have a single business with a single location, you can reference your IRS tax form for 

the year in question to find your business revenue. 

 Form 1065 (US Return of Partnership Income), Line 1a 

 Form 1120 (US Corporation Income Tax Return), Line 1a 

 Form 1040, Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business), Line 1 

 Form 1120S (US Income Tax for an S Corporation), Line 1a 
 

One business, multiple locations: 

If you have a single business with multiple locations (i.e., a single corporation with one FEIN 

who has multiple locations of their business), you will have different gross receipts/sales for 

each location. If you do not have records for each individual location showing your gross 

receipts/sales, please contact a tax professional for help determining your business revenue. 

https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices/_/
https://revenue.support.tn.gov/hc/en-us/sections/115000311543-General-TNTAP-How-to-Videos


BUSINESS TAX FILING EXTENSIONS 
 

Businesses that have filed for an extension on their Federal Income Taxes are not excused from the 

expiration of their business license. A filing request for an extension on business tax must be made in 

writing, must state why the extension is desired, must be signed, and must be submitted before the due 

date of business taxes to the address listed at the end of this section. Interest, as provided in Tenn. Code 

Ann. § 67-1-801, will be added to the amount of tax due, beginning from the statutory due date until the 

date the tax is paid. No penalty will be assessed if the return is made and the full amount of taxes are 

paid on or before the extended due date. Any return and payment made subsequent to the extended 

due date will be subject to penalty and interest from the original statutory due date without regard to 

the period allowed by the extension. For questions call (615) 253-0600 Ext. 4. 

Tennessee Department of Revenue 

Taxpayer Services Division 

Andrew Jackson Building 

500 Deaderick Street 

Nashville, Tennessee 37242-1099 
 

 

 

HOW WILL I RECEIVE MY RENEWED COPY AFTER I HAVE FILED AND PAID MY BUSINESS TAX? 
 

As of May 29th 2018, business Licenses will no longer be mailed out when they are renewed. Renewed 

business license copies will now be electronically sent to a taxpayer’s TNTAP account via the message 

portal 48 hours after the city of Chattanooga receives record of tax clearance from the Tennessee 

Department of Revenue. For questions on using your TNTAP account call (615) 253-0600 Ext. 1. 

Business licenses are available to be emailed or mailed to the authorized representatives of the business 

by request only. To make a request to receive either an electronic PDF copy of your business license 

emailed, or a hard copy mailed to the address on file please email busl@chattanooga.gov or fax (423) 

643-7278 with the following information. Please use the subject line BUSINESS LICENSE COPY REQUEST. 

Please list the name of the business, physical address where it is located, and provide the tax ID that the 

business license was filed under. This would be a SSN (Social Security Number) or ITIN (Individual 

Taxpayer Identification Number) for all Sole Proprietors and or Marital Joint ownerships, and would be 

an FEIN (Federal Employer Identification Number) for all Estates, Trusts, Partnerships, LLC’s, and or 

Corporations. A business license will only be provided when the information given matches that which is 

currently on record. 

If any further changes in business information occur, such as primary address, mailing address, and or 

personnel changes; the business is legally required to promptly notify the Tennessee Department of 

Revenue. All this as well as business tax returns are required to be filed directly via the Tennessee 

taxpayer access point (TNTAP) system. 
 

TENNESSEE TAXPAYER ACCESS POINT (TNTAP) 
 

 

mailto:busl@chattanooga.gov
https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices/_/


Business License Renewal – If you have a Minimal Activity License 

*RENEWAL NOTICES ARE NOT SENT OUT. AS THE BUSINESS OWNER YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR 

RENEWING YOUR BUSINESS LICENSE EACH YEAR. 

The taxpayer is responsible at all times for maintaining financial records for the business. If you have 

not kept financial records previously please contact a tax professional for help determining your gross 

receipts/sales. 

All businesses that currently have a Minimal Activity License, and have grossed less than or equal to 

$9,999.99 in revenue will renew their business licenses directly through both the City of Chattanooga 

Treasurer’s Office and the Hamilton County Clerk’s Office. Minimal Activity Licenses expire five months 

and fifteen days after the end of your fiscal year end date. For questions please call the respective 

Offices. 

To renew your City of Chattanooga Minimal Activity License please sign into OpenGov and replace for a 

new Minimal Activity license by clicking on the link below 

CITY OF CHATTANOOGA MINIMAL ACTIVITY LICENSE RENEWAL FORM 
 

City of Chattanooga 

Office of the City Treasurer 

101 E 11th Street, Room 101 

Chattanooga, TN 37402-4285 
 

To renew your Hamilton County Minimal Activity License please either complete their online renewal, or 

go in person to the following address: 

HAMILTON COUNTY MINIMAL ACTIVITY LICENSE RENEWAL 
 

Hamilton County 

County Clerk’s Office 

625 Georgia Ave, Room 201 

Chattanooga, TN 37402 
 

If you have a single business with a single location, you can reference your previous IRS tax forms to 

find your business revenue. 

 Form 1065 (US Return of Partnership Income), Line 1a 

 Form 1120 (US Corporation Income Tax Return), Line 1a 

 Form 1040, Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business), Line 1 

 Form 1120S (US Income Tax for an S Corporation), Line 1a 

https://chattanoogatreasurer.viewpointcloud.com/
https://chattanoogatreasurer.viewpointcloud.com/
http://www.countyclerkanytime.com/business.aspx


The taxpayer is responsible at all times for maintaining financial records for the business. A Minimal 

Activity License is only valid if your business grosses less than or equal to $9,999.99 worth of goods 

and services. If at any point during a fiscal year period, a business that has a Minimal Activity License 

grosses over $9,999.99 from the sale of goods and services, an owner, officer, member, or partner of 

the business is legally required to notify the Tennessee Department of Revenue to upgrade to a 

Standard Business License within 15 days of that occurrence. At that point in time the business would 

be required to file business tax, and would be due four months, and fifteen days after the close of a 

business’s fiscal year. If any further changes in business information occur, such as primary address, 

mailing address, and or personnel changes; the business is legally required to promptly notify the 

Tennessee Department of Revenue. All this as well as business tax returns are required to be filed 

directly via the Tennessee taxpayer access point (TNTAP) system. For questions call the Tennessee 

Department of Revenue at (615) 253-0600 Ext 4. 
 

TENNESSEE TAXPAYER ACCESS POINT (TNTAP) 
 

 

https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices/_/

