
The Chattanooga Police Department

State law requires drivers of vehicles involved in traffic crashes
resulting in death, injury, or property damage of $50 or more to
immediately notify the nearest law enforcement agency. 

If you or any involved party are injured in a crash, call 9-1-1 and an
officer will respond. 

Chattanooga Police Department officers will always respond to
crashes that involve: 

1. Death or injury;                                                                                                 
2. Hit and run;                                                                                                      
3. Impairment of an operator due to alcohol or drugs;                                     
4. Government-owned vehicles or property;                                                    
5. Hazardous materials;                                                                                      
6. Disturbances between principals;                                                                  
7. Major traffic congestion as a result of the crash; and                                  
8. Damage to vehicles to the extent that towing is required.                           
 

What to do if you're involved in a
traffic crash



Minor, Non-injury Traffic Crashes

Drivers involved in a minor, non-injury crash should still call 9-1-1 or
the non-emergency number at 423-698-2525. However, effective
January 1, 2023, call takers might not dispatch an officer if it does
not require a police response based on the circumstances.

We request that drivers
involved in minor, non-injury
crashes move their vehicles
out of the roadway to a safe
location and do the following: 

• Politely exchange
information with the other
involved party or parties.
• Take detailed cell phone
pictures of the damage.
• Share the applicable
information with your
insurance company.
• File the required documents
with the state if applicable.



You Must Report Your Crash to the
Tennessee Department of Safety



Per T.C.A 55-10-107, Tennessee law requires that you must
file, or have filed on your behalf, a personal accident report
with the Department of Safety if you were involved in a
crash as an owner or driver involving death or injury, or in
which property damage was more than one thousand five
hundred dollars ($1500) to any person involved or damage to
state or local government was more than four hundred
dollars ($400). This report is required regardless of who was
at fault and in addition to any report filed by an investigating
officer.

Failure to file a personal accident report with the Department
of Safety shall result in the suspension of the driver's license
and registrations or nonresident operating privileges of any
person involved in an accident.

Your report must be submitted to the Department of Safety
within twenty (20) days from the crash to avoid the
proposed suspension of your driving and registration
privileges. 

You can satisfy this requirement by downloading, printing,
and completing the Tennessee Department of Safety and
Homeland Security Owner / Driver Report form, which can
be found below. Blank copies of the document can also be
obtained at Chattanooga Police Department Police Service
Center at 3410 Amnicola Hwy. 

The completed form should be sent to: 

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND
SECURITY
P.O. BOX 945
NASHVILLE, TN 37202
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IMPORTANT: COMPLETE FORM BELOW AND MAIL TO: TN DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY 
                                                                                                           P.O. BOX 945 
                                                                                                           NASHVILLE, TN  37202-0945 
 
DATE OF CRASH:       PLACE OF CRASH:              

Month/Day/Year  City County 
 
VEHICLE MAKE:       VEHICLE YEAR:      VEHICLE TYPE:       
 
NAME OF OPERATOR:                     DOB:       

Last  First Middle  Month/Day/Year 
 
ADDRESS:                               

Number Street City State Zip 
 
DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER:       STATE:       EXPIRATION DATE:       
 
NAME OF OWNER:                     DOB:       

Last  First Middle  Month/Day/Year 
 
ADDRESS:                               

Number Street City State Zip 
 
DRIVER LICENSE NUMBER:       STATE:       EXPIRATION DATE:       
 
WERE THERE INJURIES OR DEATH INVOLVED IN THIS CRASH?  YES  NO 
 
WERE THERE DAMAGES TO YOUR VEHICLE?  YES  NO 
IF YES, WERE THEY LESS THAN $1,500?   OR GREATER THAN $1,500  IF OVER $1,500, ENTER AMOUNT       
 
WERE THERE DAMAGES TO STATE OR LOCAL PROPERTY?  YES  NO 
IF YES, WERE THEY LESS THAN $400?   OR GREATER THAN $400  IF OVER $400, ENTER AMOUNT  
 
IF AVAILABLE, LIST THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION ON THE OTHER DRIVER INVOLVED IN THIS CRASH: 

                           

Last Name  First Name  Middle Initial  Driver License Number 
 
DID YOU HAVE LIABILITY INSURANCE COVERAGE FOR THIS CRASH?  YES  NO  
 
IF YES, PROVIDE COMPLETE INFORMATION BELOW: 
 
NAME OF INSURANCE COMPANY (NOT AGENCY):       
 
ADDRESS:                               

Number Street City State Zip 
 
POLICY NUMBER:       POLICY PERIOD: FROM:       TO:       
 
NAME OF POLICYHOLDER:  
ADDRESS:                               

Number Street City State Zip 
 
NAME OF INSURANCE REPRESENTATIVE  (AGENCY) WHO ISSUED POLICY:       
 
ADDRESS:                               

Number Street City State Zip 
 
NOTE:  THE INSURANCE INFORMATION YOU PROVIDE WILL BE FORWARDED TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY FOR VERIFICATION. 
 

   
Signature  Date 

 
  

TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY  
AND HOMELAND SECURITY 

 
OWNER / DRIVER REPORT
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TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY  

 
OWNER / DRIVER REPORT 

 
 
 
 
 As set forth under the provisions of 55-12-104, T.C.A., you must file, or have filed in your behalf, a personal 
report with the Department of Safety and Homeland Security, if you were involved in an automobile crash as an owner 
or driver involving death or injury, or in which damage to property was in excess of one thousand five hundred dollars 
($1,500) to any person involved OR if an accident results in damage to state or local government property in excess of 
four hundred dollars ($400).  This report is required regardless of who was at fault and in addition to any report filed by 
an investigating officer. 
 

Failure to file a personal crash report with the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland 
Security may result in the suspension of driver license and registrations or nonresident 
operating privileges of any person involved in a crash. 

 
 Your report must be submitted to the Department within twenty (20) days from the crash.  You can satisfy this 
requirement by completing the reverse side of this from and mailing it to the Tennessee Department of Safety and 
Homeland Security, P.O. Box 945, Nashville, TN  37202.  If you have any questions, please call 
toll-free (866) 903-7357 or the Telecommunications Device for the Deaf (615) 532-2281. 
 
Thank you for your cooperation.  
 
 
 
 
TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY 
 
 


	owneroperator

